What Happens If I Disable and Delete Photos from iCloud?

I don't know why my photos are being saved to iCloud. I guess it is the default. It keeps annoying me that my iCloud storage is almost full. If I hit "Disable & Delete" for my iCloud photos, will all of my pictures be removed just from my iCloud?

Best Answered by

Myra· Answered on Jun 27, 2024

If you disable and delete photos from iCloud, all the photos and videos will be removed from all connected devices signed in with the same Apple ID. This means that the images will no longer be accessible on your iPhone, iPad, Mac, or any other device that is syncing with iCloud. However, all these items are not deleted immediately. After you hit the Disable & Delete button, your photos and videos in iCloud will stay for 30 days, after which they will be removed permanently.

Before you turn off iCloud Photos, it's crucial to download all the images. You can go to iCloud.com to select pictures and download them to your device. There's also a quicker way to save iCloud data. EaseUS MobiMover can export all the iCloud data, including photos, to your computer in one click: Launch EaseUS MobiMover > Sign in to your account > Click Export iCloud Data to Computer.

After backing up all iCloud images to your iPhone or computer, then you can disable iCloud Photos in iCloud and all of your devices:

  • On iOS 16 and later, go to Settings > User Name > iCloud > Manage Account Storage. Tap Photos > Turn Off & Delete from iCloud.
  • On iOS 15 and earlier, go to Settings > User Name > iCloud > Manage Storage > Photos > Disable & Delete.

If you change your mind, you can undo turning off iCloud Photos. Repeat the steps above to select Undo Delete.

For some users, they don't want to turn off iCloud Photos for all devices. Follow the steps to disable iCloud Photos for only one device: on your iPhone and iPad, go to Settings > User Name > iCloud > Photos > Toggle off Sync This Device.

Further Reading: How to Turn Off iCloud Photos Without Deleting Everything

Download EaseUS MobiMover to Make iPhone Data Transfer Easy!

Find best solutions for iPhone backup and phone data transfer, and keep up with trending topics.

People Also Ask

How Long Does It Take to Upload 20,000 Photos to iCloud?

Do you have a lot of photos or videos to upload? In this post, you will know 'how long it takes to upload 20,000 photos to iCloud?'

Myra

May 27, 2024

If I Delete iCloud Photos on PC, Will They Stay on My Phone?

Sometimes, it is convenient to use a Windows computer to manage iCloud photos. However, you may wonder, 'If I delete iCloud Photos on my PC, will they stay on my phone?' In this post, you will find your answer and be fully informed about the consequences of deleting iCloud photos.

Myra

May 23, 2024

Can You Delete Photos from iPhone but Not iCloud

If you want to delete some photos on your iPhone but would like to keep them on iCloud, you may get a prompt that the pictures will be removed from iCloud too. Don't worry, here's the fix.

Gorilla

Apr 01, 2024

Why Does It Take iCloud Photo Library so Long?

When you sync iCloud photo library, you may find it takes so long. This post shows you why it takes iCloud photo library so long. You will also learn some easy tips on how to fix the slow speed of iCloud sync.

Sofia Albert

Apr 30, 2024

Does iCloud Backup Include Photos?

Many users wonder if I only turn on iCloud Backup but not iCloud Photos or iCloud Photo Library, will my photos still be uploaded to the cloud? The answer is YES. iCloud Backup will back up your iPhone, including your photos and videos in Camera Roll.

Myra

Apr 30, 2024

Why Are My Photos Taking so Long to Upload?

If your photos take a long time to upload to iCloud, read this post to find out why. The reasons range from your file size to your Internet speed.

Sofia Albert

Apr 22, 2024